Waiting, Impatiently

Do you know how it is when you form an idea in your head, when you know that there is something that you need or want, and then find that suddenly, without warning, it’s taking longer than it should to actually physically put your hands on the thing that you know that you want / need / unreasonably desire?

That’s the position in which I find myself now. I’m waiting for a small parcel containing some old issues of Rocks & Minerals, so that I can write up a brief entry about American popular mineralogy literature. And it’s driving me mad, because, by rights, the parcel should have come by now. Therefore I’m left in the position of doing something which I don’t do well – being patient. I know that it’s supposed to be a virtue and all of that, but I can’t help thinking that even the people who say “patience is a virtue” know, empirically, that the very sentiment to which they’ve just given tongue is a load of dingoes’ kidneys.

So the post is delayed, because I’ll have some reading to do once I finally get the materials for which I’m waiting. In the meantime, I may have to tackle trying to write something more about crystallography, which is difficult, but will ultimately be useful. And I’ll just have to keep telling myself that…

Leave a Reply

